View this email in your browser

Victorian POV

Monday 6th March 2023

Victorian DOP Mandy Walker AM ASC ACS becomes first woman to win ASC Feature Competition

A personal message from Victorian Branch President Brent Crockett ACS:

Yesterday I had the great privilege of presenting an event with Mandy Walker AM ASC ACS. Mandy was the Director of Photography on the movie Elvis. After we screened the movie, Mandy Joined us via Zoom from Los Angeles to talk about her amazing career and her journey. We chatted about the film, what went into making it and the success she has been having since its release.
After winning the AACTA here in Australia earlier this year, and the first Female DP to do so in any major award history. Mandy was nominated for a BAFTA, an American Society of Cinematographers, and an Academy Award. Tonight, Mandy Walker became the first Female Cinematographer to win the ASC award. It's a massive honour for her and so thoroughly deserved. Huge Congrats to you Mandy - now the Oscar!

Brent Crockett ACS
Read more about Mandy Walker's stunning success in this article from The Hollywood Reporter! As noted in the article, "in seven of the last 10 years, the winner of the ASC feature competition went on to win the cinematography Oscar..."
As explained by Variety, Walker "triumphed over Greig Fraser (“The Batman”), Darius Khondji (“Bardo, False Chronicle of a Handful of Truths”), Claudio Miranda (“Top Gun: Maverick” and Roger Deakins (“Empire of Light”) in a very competitive race."
Photo Source: Instagram

Victoria Gold Sponsor
Soundfirm logo

Victoria Silver Sponsors
Backlot Studios logo        Digital Pigeon logo        Shotclass logo

Victoria Bronze Sponsors
Freelancers Promotions logo        The Vision House logo

Victoria Supporter
Australian Teachers of Media (ATOM) logo

National Major Sponsor
Fujifilm Australia logo

National Diamond Sponsor
Creamsource logo

National Platinum Sponsors
Black Magic Design logo        Canon logo        Cutting Edge logo        Panavision logo        Silver Track Digital logo
Sony logo

National Gold Sponsors
AFTRS logo        Aputure logo        ARRI Australia logo        C R Kennedy logo        EIZO logo
Kayell Australia logo        Leitz Cine Wetzlar logo        Lemac logo        Miller Australia logo        Rosco logo
Showreel Finder logo        SUNSTUDIOS logo        VA Hire logo        Well Above logo        XM2 logo

National ACS CineKids Sponsor
Videocraft logo

National Bronze Sponsors
Camerahire logo        Kino Flo Lighting Systems logo        Nanlux logo        Panasonic logo        RED logo
Sura logo        TecArt logo        Vimo Cine logo

National Supporters
AACTA logo        Black Bishop logo        MPIBS logo        NFSA logo        Stage & Screen logo

Victorian Branch
Australian Cinematographers Society

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.