ENTRIES CLOSING SOON (Amended): ACS Victoria/Tasmania 48th Annual AWARDS for CINEMATOGRAPHY

Major National Sponsor

National Platinum Sponsors

National Gold Sponsors

National Silver Sponsors

National Bronze Sponsors

National Supporters

Entries CLOSING SEPT 26th (22nd for FTP) for Victorian and Tasmanian ACS Members. **Please see revised information about DCP entries below**

The Victorian and Tasmanian Branch of the ACS is now accepting entries into the 48th Annual Vic/Tas Awards for Cinematography 2014.

Now is the time to consider all your best work from the past year and enter it into our prestigious awards. Entries are judged by our 5 ACS Accredited Judges and may win either Gold, Silver or Bronze Awards. Being judged a Gold will automatically result in your entry being judged for the National Awards 2015.

IMPORTANT. ALLOW TIME FOR POSTAGE. If you have already entered but not sent your physical media do NOT leave it too late. Australia Post is running slow at the moment and may take 3-4 days to deliver your package to our PO Box. If you have not entered, get onto it soon. Hand delivery to Cameraquip in South Melbourne is the safest option. REMEMBER even if you have entered online your entry MUST be with us by Friday Sept 26 or it will not be judged.

Entries may be submitted for judging for this year's State Awards between Monday August 25th 2014 and Friday September 26th 2014 at 5pm AEST. Entries will NOT be accepted after this period. IMPORTANT: Entries submitted by uploading to our FTP must be complete by September 22nd 2014. Please see details below regarding eligibility for uploading your entry. This has changed since last year.

Only currently financial members of the Victorian and Tasmanian Branches are eligible for entry. If you are not a current member or are in arrears you may enter once you have joined and paid your dues. You will be advised when your funds have cleared and can submit. NB: This can be no later than the closing dates for physical and FTP submissions.

Terms and Conditions of Awards Entry

Entrants must be current financial members of the VIC or TAS Branches of the ACS and have been totally responsible for the visual content of the entry.

The ACS prefers data files entries and no tape formats will be accepted.

Entries will only be accepted on the following formats:
Data files: H.264, ProRes QT and DNxHD on USB or Hard Drives.
Commercially produced DVD's (No self authored DVD's) or Bluray discs.
DCP packages for Cinema Release entries, e.g., Feature Films. DCP's must be unencrypted or a KDM supplied for the dates Oct 3, 4, 5, 2014


Always submit the highest quality file / dub / media for every entry so they can be judged accurately and winners' work screened in the best possible form at the Awards. Poor quality entries impede the ability of the judges to accurately review the work, which may result in the disqualification of your entry, and in this case, entry fees are non-refundable. Data files are preferred method of entry, and must adhere to the following guidelines in order to preserve image quality benchmarks:

H.264: Quicktime or MP4 files with a data rate of 5000kbps or greater.

ProRes: Quicktime files, ProRes422 preferred.

Avid DNxHD: Quicktime files in online resolution (i.e., 50mbps or higher), DNxHD 36 preferred.

Data files may be submitted on USB drives or hard drives. These are available for you to collect after the Awards unless you win Gold in which case after the National Awards.
Files via FTP may ONLY be submitted if you are in a remote location and not able to deliver or post a USB drive or disks. If you submit via FTP without permission your entry will be rejected. (FTP files: h.264 codec only - max 500mb!) You will need to contact the Vic /Tas Awards Organiser to access the FTP link. Email link below.

You will receive a confirmation email on completion of this form. It will contain instructions on how to submit your entry, and will reference your unique entry number that you'll need to submit with your entry. Please follow these instructions carefully. All physical media entries must be submitted during office hours to:

PO Box 2023,
South Melbourne VIC 3205

or delivered to Cameraquip

434 Clarendon St,
South Melbourne VIC 3205

Data file entries must be named correctly. The file must adhere to the following naming convention, note - do not put entrants name in the file name.

eg: Cat12_birdsofsuva_89.mov

Entrants may place multiple entries on USB or Hard Drives, though an online entry form must be submitted for each individual entry. Each file must follow the naming protocol and USB or Hard Drives require a separate label for each file on the drive/s.

All entries must have the Awards entry label attached (this label is supplied with the confirmation email that the entrant will receive after submission of the online entry form) and be received via mail, courier or hand delivery to the address listed on the entry form, by the due date and time. Late entries will not be accepted. If entries are on USB drive/s then place in an envelope with the label.

-- Awards Open August 25th

PLEASE CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW FOR ONLINE ENTRY. Each entry requires its own Entry Form.

http://www.sharpshooter.com.au/acs/2014-vic-tas-awards-cinematography »
Email ACS Victoria for FTP entry or enquiries »
View Full Terms and Conditions »


You have received this correspondence because you are a member or affiliate of the ACS.
If you do NOT wish to receive correspondence from the ACS Victorian Branch, please go to
and log in with your membership profile to modify your eNews options.
Or email
and ask us to opt out.

ACS Website »

The Australian Cinematographers' Society

Look us up on Facebook »

If you're not a friend yet, Like us

Visit the Victorian Branch Webpage »

Visit the Victorian Website

Click here to visit our FLIKR pages »

ACS Victoria upload many photos to Flikr and most are available for downloading

Check out our VIMEO Channel »

Videos of Awards and Events are available for viewing here


We gratefully acknowledge the support of our Sponsors.

Please click on our Sponsors logo to visit their website




© 2019 Australian Cinematographers Society