VICTORIAN eNews POV August 26, 2012

Victorian ACS AGM elects new committee

Our AGM was held on August 7th at Lemac. It was an enjoyable and very well attended evening with Soren Phillips from Black Magic Design who brought along the BMD Cinema Camera. While he was unable to show us any images as yet due to developmental delays it was a lively discussion talking about the pros and cons and maybe's of the camera. Thanks to Soren and Tim from Lemac for organising that event and we look forward to seeing the camera later in the year.

At the beginning of the evening the committee was stood down and a new committee elected. It was a great result with several new faces joining us which is very encouraging. Here is the new committee.

2012/13 Committee:

President: Alan Cole ACS

Vice Presidents: Brent Crockett ACS and Warwick Field

Secretary: Adam Russ

Treasurer: Richard Jones

eNews Editor: Warwick Field


Laszlo Baranyai HSC ACS
Joanne Donahoe-Beckwith
Ben Doudney
Edward Goldner
Victoria Goodyear
Mayur Katariya (Student Rep)
Mark Morris (Student Rep)
Greg McKibbin
Alex McPhee ACS
Gerald Wilbin (Student Rep)
David Williams

Many thanks to outgoing Committee members for all their work and support especially Jaems Grant ACS and Malcolm Richards from Cameraquip who have worked tirelessly for years and offered many services to the ACS for no cost.

Vic/Tas Awards Coming Soon. Get your entries ready.

The 2012 Vic/Tas ACS Awards will be held on Sat Nov 24th. Entries may be submitted from Sept 1st with details of entry procedures to follow. The ACS has changed the acceptable entry formats this year so please READ CAREFULLY the specifications listed below or at the website Terms and Conditions of entries:

Closing date for submissions will be 5pm October 6th, 2012.

Entrants must be current financial members of the VIC or TAS Branches of the ACS.

Entries will only be accepted on the following formats:
HDCAM SR, Digital Betacam, commercially produced DVDs (no self authored DVDs), BluRay discs and as data files in H.264, ProRes and DNX formats only.

In 2012 data files entries are preferred by the ACS.

There have been issues with members submitting entries on self authored DVDs or as data files with very high levels of compression, or in a way that is not viewable by the judges. These types of entries impede the ability of the judges to accurately review the work and this may reflect badly on your entry. It may even result in the disqualification of your entry. In this case, entry fees are non-refundable. With this in mind, the ACS will accept ProRes and DNX Quicktimes for the first time, meaning that it may not be necessary for the entrant to burn the entry onto a DVD, or to transcode to another codec. Note that data DVDs will not be accepted this year. Please submit the highest quality file / dub / media for every entry so they can be judged accurately and winners' work screened in the best possible form at the Awards.

Use the link below for the online Entry Form. Entries will be accepted from Sept 1, 2012


The ACS Website Upgrade

The team in the back room at the ACS has been working very hard in recent times to improve the speed and experience of the National ACS Website. The website has been quite slow at times but has just been upgraded and we are sure you will notice a massive improvement.

It is still early days so please bear with us as some minor processes in the swap over are continuing for the next week and its possible some teething problems may be evident. Many thanks to Simon Russell for his work in getting all this organised.

As a result you will notice the format of the eNews has changed as well.

ACS Website »

The Australian Cinematographers Society

The Victorian ACS Website »

Visit the Victorian Branch

Look us up on Facebook »

If you're not a friend yet, join us!


We gratefully acknowledge the support of our Sponsors


Video Australasia



Method Studios
Murray Tregonning & Associates

© 2019 Australian Cinematographers Society