Tasmanian ACS E-News, May 2015


Major National Sponsor

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Bronze Sponsors

National Supporters

National Awards Partners

2015 National Awards wrap up

Southern Light Equipment Expo held at the Grand Chancellor, Hobart.

Wow, it’s hard to believe it’s all over! The Government House Reception, Southern Lights Expo, Gallipoli screening / Q&A and Awards ceremony at stunning MONA – all done and dusted. It was a fantastic effort from your local ACS committee and a great success in every aspect. 160+ at the Reception, 120+ at the Screening, 50 at the Ray Martin and Lemac presentations, 50 to the Pieter De Vries workshop and about 200 through the Expo with 13 Exhibitors plus ACS merchandise and information.

The Governors reception was a big hit with members and guests.

The Awards at MONA sold out 7 weeks in advance with 230 glammed up members, partners, sponsors and friends attending. Peter Weir and Russell Boyd ACS ASC were fantastic Guests of Honour. John Seale ACS ASC, Peter James ACS ASC and other gun cinematographers were all in town - it was a brilliant gathering. Our regular Awards MC Ray Martin was in his element and Tasmanian members spent plenty of time on stage receiving recognition for their work and efforts in some cases - an entire lifetime of cinematography.

Check out all of the winners on our website: http://www.cinematographer.org.au/cms/page.asp?ID=21749

or to see clips of the winners go to The ACS 2015 Showreelfinder awards site:


The ACS Tasmania Facebook page also has lots of photo’s to see and all the official photos will go up on the ACS web site very soon.

Your local ACS Tas Committee was flat-out pulling this off and we owe them a great deal of gratitude for doing such an amazing job. They are…. Peter Curtis, Michael Sampey, David and Ruth Hudspeth, Andrew Harcourt, Graham Gates, Robert Heazlewood, Tom Waugh, Dick Marks and Patricia Bromley-Marks, Andy Ciddor and ACS Tas foundation member Peter Donnelly. They were also helped by a bunch of other volunteers who did a lot over the actual awards period including Richard Williams, Andy Cunningham, Cassie Murray, Lauren Potter and Terese Abbey.

National ACS President Ron Johanson OAM, Tasmanian ACS VP Mike Sampey & Tasmanian ACS President Peter Curtis ACS.

A great big thank you also goes out to our Tasmanian sponsors and Awards Partners – Screen Tasmania, Scene Change, Creative Imagery, Southern Cross Television and Saffire Resort. The ABC was also extremely supportive with gear and making sure Peter and David were available to concentrate on the ACS Events last week.

From left to right. Dick Marks OAM, Peter Weir AM, Russell Boyd ACS ASC, John Seal ACS ASC and David Burr ACS at the Q&A after the special screening of Gallipoli at the State cinema.

MC Ray Martin with Peter Weir AM & Russell Boyd ACS ASC at the awards.

Tasmanian Winners

• David Brill ACS received his Accreditation certificate and pin.
• Mark Dobbin ACS received his Accreditation certificate and pin.
• Mark also won the Award of Distinction in the International News category.
• Joe Shemesh won the Gold Tripod and the Award of Distinction in the Wildlife and Nature category.
• Pawel Achtel won an Award of Distinction in the Specialised Cinematography category.
• Pawel Achtel also won the inaugural Bob Miller – ACS Technical and Innovation Achievement Award for his 3-Deep High Def 3D underwater housing system.
• Peter Curtis received a Ron Windon ACS Contribution Award for his work for the society since he joined in 1988.
• Ex Tasmanian Mitchell Woolnough won the Gold Tripod in the Local / Regional News category.

Tasmanian President Peter Curtis ACS accepts the Ron Windon ACS Contribution Award.

David Brill ACS & Mark Dobbin ACS accept their ACS accreditation.

Joe Shemesh wins the Gold Tripod and the Award of Distinction in the Wildlife and Nature category

Pawel Achtel (on the right) wins the Bob Miller ACS technical and innovation achievement award

Important dates for 2015

If you are thinking of applying for ACS Accreditation this year submissions must be received between July 1 and July 31. Maybe talk to me first if you are contemplating applying.

• June 1st new membership year begins.
• Accreditation applications can be made July 1st - July 31st . Please talk with Peter Curtis before applying.
• August 24th Vic / Tas ACS Awards entries open.
• August 28th – 30th. Accreditation judging and half yearly AGM.
• September 25th Vic /Tas ACS Awards entries close.
• November 28th – Annual Vic / Tas ACS Awards at the ANZ Pavilion at the Vic Arts centre in Melbourne.

Just one of the exciting workshops that were held over the weekend.

ACS legend Peter Donnelly ACS

The Governor of Tasmania, Her Excellency Professor the Honourable Kate Warner AM opens the awards.

Two legends finally meet. Andrew Harcourt and National President Ron Johanson ACS

© 2019 Australian Cinematographers Society