SA Kinemagraphe August 2011

In This Issue:

  • ACS Membership Fees Now Due
  • ACS SA AGM & Quiz Night
  • Your New SA Committee
  • Awards Entry Forms Now Online
  • SAFC Adelaide Studios Open Day
  • Camera Training TVCs

ACS Membership Fees Now Due

This message is to those who are yet to pay this year's subscriptions, as the ACS financial year is 1st July to 30th June.

As previously advised, the ACS prefers payment of your subscriptions via your personal web page on the new ACS website, so individual invoices are not sent out. A 'tax invoice/receipt' is able to be printed from the website.

Your personal web page username is your surname plus the first two letters of your given name, e.g. John Smith would be smithjo. You should have already received your password by email. If not, please enter your username and request a new password to be sent to your email address. If you are having difficulties, please contact SA President Ernie Clark ACS.

Log in to pay your membership fees here. »
Email SA President Ernie Clark ACS »

You may also pay directly by eft, cheque or money order if you prefer, with payments made to:

ACS SA Branch
PO Box 212
Kent Town SA 5071

Our bank details are:
Account Name: ACS SA Branch
Bank: ANZ
BSB: 015-311
Acct#: 100109513

Don't forget to put your name in the reference line so we know who the payment is from!

The ACS relies on your subscriptions to provide the events, ACS Awards & facilities and although some members have paid, many have not! Please remit your payment before the end of August.

Fees are: Accredited Members $187; Full Members $121; Active Members $99; Associate Members $77; Student $55.

ACS SA AGM & Quiz Night

SA President Ernie Clark ACS and Vice President JoAnne Bouzianis-Sellick

The SA branch AGM was held on August 11 at the Inter-Italian Sports & Social Club in Norwood. About 25 members gathered for a couple of drinks and voted in the new committee for 2011-12.

Darcy Sullivan, Des Keneally and David Woolford give the chocolate wheel a spin

After the formalities were over, we sat down for a great meal of pasta and a Quiz Night with four rounds of quiz questions, run by committee members Maxx Corkindale, Vivyan Madigan and Kirsty Stark.

Quiz night winners Graeme Shelton, Marcus Bosisto and Richard Back

The questions were tougher than anticipated, and a huge congratulations goes to the winning team - Graeme Shelton, Richard Back and Marcus Bosisto - with a score of 21/40. Congratulations must also go to our wooden spoon winners (pictured below), who came up with some very amusing answers!

Wooden Spoon winners - Tess, David, Sam and Dusan

Many prizes were given away on the chocolate wheel throughout the night, including a night at the Hotel Grand Chancellor, many lucky dips from either the 'blue bag' or the dreaded 'grey bag,' and even a Go Pro HD camera was won by a very surprised Dusan Jonic.

Dusan with his Go Pro prize

Thanks to everyone who attended.

ACS SA Committee 2011/2012

The new SA branch committee for 2011/2012 is as follows. Please contact any of these members with suggestions for trade nights and other ACS matters.

President: Ernie Clark ACS
Vice President: Joanne Bouzianis-Sellick
Vice President: Mark Evans
Secretary: David Woolford
Assistant Secretary & Newsletter Editor: Kirsty Stark
Treasurer: Mylene Ludgate
Assistant Treasurer: Richard Back
Committee Member: Clive Taylor ACS
Committee Member: Jo Rossiter ACS
Committee Member: Malcolm Ludgate ACS
Committee Member: Andy Stankovich
Committee Member: Maxx Corkindale
Committee Member: Viv Madigan
Committee Member: Aaron Gully
Committee Member: Paul Martino (pending)

ACS State Awards Entry Forms Now Online

Entry forms for the 2011 SA/WA ACS State Awards are now online.

The 2011 SA and WA Awards for Cinematography will be held in WA at The Royal Perth Yacht Club, Australia II Drive, Crawley, Perth at 6pm on Saturday 5 November 2011.

There will be a concurrent celebration held in SA.

Entrants must be current financial members of the SA or WA Branches of the ACS.

Entries will only be accepted on the following formats: HDCAM, Digital Betacam, DVD, BluRay and Data. There are strict format conditions on data entries, listed in the terms and conditions.

The deadline for awards entries is 1700hrs on September 23rd. This includes the deadline for receiving physical media, like tapes, discs or USB drives.

Click here for 2011 Awards Categories »
Click here for 2011 Awards Terms & Conditions »
Click here to enter the 2011 SA and WA Awards for Cinematography »

SAFC Adelaide Studios Industry Orientation Day

As a member of the South Australian film, television and digital media industry, you are invited to come and see the South Australian Film Corporation's new, recently completed, state of the art production facilities.

Please join us for a tour of the refurbished administration building, soundstages, production office spaces, sound mixing theatre, and screening theatre.

We have a number of times for you to choose from depending on what suits.
Light refreshments will be provided.

Tour Times:

Tour A: 10am - 11.15am
Tour B: 10.45am - 12noon
Tour C: 2pm - 3.15pm
Tour D: 2.45pm - 4pm

Please RSVP by Friday August 19th at the following link, and select which tour you are available to attend. Unfortunately, RSVPs beyond this date cannot be guaranteed a space.

We look forward to welcoming you.

Click here to RSVP for the Adelaide Studios Industry Open Day »

Camera Training TVCs

Have you seen the series of Rugby World Cup TVCs featuring training for camera operators? Check them out on YouTube, the links are below:

Waikato »
Blindfold »
Shooting Practice »
Match Fit »

We welcome any news or articles to be featured in Kinemagraphe. Please send pictures and stories to our editor, Kirsty Stark.

Click here to contact SA eNews editor »

The SA Branch appreciates the support of our National Sponsors.


You have received this correspondence because you are a member or affiliate of the ACS.
If you wish NOT to receive correspondence form the ACS SA branch, please got to
and log in with your membership profile to modify your correspondence options. »

Thanks to SA Major Sponsor

The SA branch acknowledges the financial support of the SAFC

Want to know more about our SA Sponsors? Click here. »

Thanks to SA Gold Sponsors

Thanks to SA Silver Sponsors

Thanks to SA Bronze Sponsors

Want to become an SA sponsor? Then contact SA sponsorship coordinator. »

© 2019 Australian Cinematographers Society