View this email in your browser


  • Vimeo Link to the 2020 ACS National Award Live Stream
  • Congratulations to All Winners
  • In Case you Missed It - Mandy Walker ASC, ACS and Bonnie Elliott ACS Live Stream
  • On the Horizon

2020 ACS National Awards Live Stream

Huge congratulations to all our Queensland nominees and winners, as well as all our National recipients for their contributions to this industry.

Full List of Award Recipients

Below are all the celebrated recipients from the 2020 ACS National Awards.


Gold certificate: David Szasz – Ship Out
Award of distinction: Ai Shaw-Veizen – Harry Potter

Student Cinematography

Gold certificate: Michael Filocamo – A Bird With No Legs
AD: Connor Gurr – Signal

John Bowring ACS TV Station Breaks & Promos

Gold Tripod: Tony Luu ACS – The Voice promo
AD Tony Luu ACS – Good Food Awards

Music Videos

Gold Tripod: Kieran Fowler ACS NZCS – Guy Sebastian ‘Choir’
AD: Zachary Hardaker – Taikoz ‘Towards the Rain”

Syd Wood ACS Local & National News

Gold Tripod: Arron Hage – Snowy Mountains fly fishing (Seven Network News)
AD: Arron Hage – Lake George is Alive (Seven Network News)

Neil Davis International News

Gold Tripod: Joel Lawrence ACS – The Battle for Hong Kong
AD: Thomas Hancock – Surrendering from Baghouz: the final days of Islamic State in Syria (ABC News)

Current Affairs

Gold Tripod: Tom Bannigan – Foreign Correspondent, The Oasis (ABC)
AD: John Varga – Sunday Night, Crayfish Murder (Seven Network)

Entertainment & TV Magazine

Gold Tripod: Chris Lewis – Burringurrah
AD: Robert Hill ACS – Sunday Night, Polar Bear Town (Seven Network)

Corporate & Educational

Gold Tripod: Lincoln Williams – Evolve Skateboards
AD: Christian Fitzpatrick – Volando: An Introduction


Gold Tripod: Caleb Ware – By the River
AD: Abraham Joffe ACS & Dom West – Yarrow: The Virtues of Monochrome

Ron Taylor AM ACS Wildlife & Nature

Gold Tripod: Edward Salter and Daniel Hunter – Hostile Planet (Jungles: Bats vs Crocs) 
AD: Jonathan Shaw ACS – Magical Land of Oz (Oceans series episode 1)

Commercials – Local & Regional

Gold Tripod: Campbell Brown – Running Bare
AD: Liam Gilmour – Emporium

Commercials – National/International

Gold Tripod: Tim Tregoning ACS – Rural Fire Services – Have a Plan
AD: Ross Giardina ACS – President’s Choice

Dramatised Documentaries

Gold Tripod: Katie Milwright ACS – Guilty
AD: Matthew Horrex ACS – Just a Boy, Vicks- Touch of Care 

Short Films

Gold Tripod: Carl Robertson ACS – Ascendant 
AD: Lucas Tomoana – My Name is Mudju

Serial TV & Comedy Series

AD: Judd Overton – No Activity (series 2 episode 8)

Drama Series & Telefeatures

Gold Tripod: Zoe White  ACS – The Handmaid’s Tale (series 3, episode 11) – Liars
AD: Mark Wareham ACS – Secret City: Under the Eagle, (episode 1) – Run Little Rabbit

Feature films budgeted below $2 million

Gold Tripod: Joshua Flavell ACS – Pimped 
AD: Chris Bland – Locusts

Feature films budgeted above $2 million

Gold Tripod: Nick Matthews ACS – Hotel Mumbai
AD: Denson Baker ACS NZCS – Ophelia 

Milli Award

Nick Matthews ACS – Hotel Mumbai

Ron Windon Award
Robb Shaw-Velzen ACS

Hall of Fame Inductees
Dion Beebe ACS ASC  |  Roger Lanser ACS   |  John Wheeler ACS

And if you'd like to watch some of these individual's amazing work, or snippets of past recipient's projects, check our our collated reel on Showreelfinder.
Showreelfinder - ACS National Awards 2020

WIFT Webinar with Mandy Walker ASC, ACS and Bonnie Elliott ACS - In Case you Missed It

Last Friday, WIFT International hosted a live discussion with Bonnie Elliott ACS and veteran Mandy Walker ASC, ACS. In case you missed it, don't forget to check out the archived recording of the stream at WIFT's Facebook page below!
WIFT Webinar - Mandy Walker ASC, ACS and Bonnie Elliott ACS

ACS QLD Facebook

For instant updates on announcements, upcoming dates and links to recent live streams and podcast episodes, consider clicking like and following us on Facebook!

ACS QLD Instagram

And for those who prefer the more visual posts of member's work and event highlight videos, make sure to follow our Instagram page!

On the Horizon
  • Our Next Committee Meeting - 6th July
  • State Award Submissions Open - 1st August
  • State Award Submissions Close - 21st August
  • State Award Ceremony - 21st November

Queensland Gold Sponsors
Griffith University logo        Pixel Line logo        The Post Works logo

Queensland Silver Sponsors
Cameraquip logo        Cartel Film Production logo        Creative Crunchers logo        Shed Light logo

Queensland Bronze Sponsors
Essential Crew logo        Fly Film logo        Peachy Keen Colour logo        TPR Media logo        Warren Eagles Colorist logo

National Major Sponsor
FUJIFILM Australia logo

National Platinum Sponsors
Atomos logo        Black Magic Design logo        Canon logo        LaCie logo        Panasonic logo
Panavision logo        Silver Track Digital logo        Sony logo

National Gold Sponsors
AFTRS logo        ARRI Australia logo        C R Kennedy & Company PTY LTD logo        Gear Head logo        Kaleidoscope Digital logo
Kayell Australia logo        Leitz Cine Wetzlar logo        Lemac logo        Showreel Finder logo        SUNSTUDIOS logo
The Post Lounge logo        VA Hire logo        Well Above logo

National ACS CineKids Sponsor
Videocraft logo

National Silver Sponsors
Miller Australia logo        Rosco logo        Rotor Head logo

National Bronze Sponsors
Blonde Robot logo        Camerahire logo        Dragon Image logo        EE Group logo        Kino Flo Lighting Systems logo
RED logo        Sura logo        Vimo Cine logo

National Supporters
AACTA logo        Black Bishop logo        MPIBS logo        NFSA logo        Stage & Screen logo
The Production Book logo

Queensland Branch
Australian Cinematographers Society
5 Exhibition Street, BOWEN HILLS QLD 4006

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.