AC Magazines



The CUTTING EDGE 2015 ACS QLD CINEMATOGRAPHY AWARDS were held at The Tivoli on Saturday 21st November. What a great night indeed for the local film community and a great atmosphere of camaraderie and friendships as we all came together to celebrate the year that was in Cinematography. Mike Goldman was our MC this year, and brought his own colour and humour to the show! The ACS congratulates all our award winners and entrants for 2015 - all the work submitted was of an extremely high standard, with the judges wishing to applaud all the exciting work of all QLD Cinematographers!

QLD President Tony O'Loughlan with Guest of Honour Stephen F. Windon ACS ASC

Ron Johanson OAM ACS presents Mark Toia with the Edwin Scragg Award

These awards, along with all our events and workshops throughout the year, would not be possible without the assistance of the ACS National Sponsors and our QLD ACS Sponsors. We need to acknowledge the continued support of the ACS National Platinum Sponsor FUJINON/FUJIFILM, as well as QLD ACS Platinum Sponsor CUTTING EDGE. We also wish to thank all the other sponsors, and I urge you to take a quick look at the sponsors side curtains in this newsletter just to understand how much dedicated local and national support is put into the film community, especially the ACS. We are not alone, and as you all tread your own exciting journeys in your film and television careers, the ACS and all our fellow supporting partners are with you all the way.

While the full list of winners is available via the links below - the standouts for 2015 included the ever humble Mr Peter Steer who received the 2015 QLD Judges award for his now world famous work through news crews - CARJACK CAMERAMAN. Leigh Hubner ACS was also very honoured to officially receive his accreditation from Ron Johanson OAM ACS. Of course, one of most emotional and honourable awards from ACS QLD is the prestigious Edwin Scragg Award for contribution to the ACS and the film industry, with this year a very worthy recipient in Mr Mark Toia. Thank you and congratulations Mark, as well as all the 2015 ACS QLD Award entrants and recipients.

I'd like to make special mention of Ron Johanson OAM ACS, and we are very lucky to have the National ACS President as a QLD member - and no doubt all of you can agree his inspiration and selfless dedication to the community and in particular to the ACS is truly remarkable. On behalf of the QLD Branch, we also need to thank the amazing Mr Stephen F. Windon ACS ASC for his time to join us as our special Guest of Honour for 2015, as well as generously offering to have a small meet and greet with QLD members on the night prior to the awards. This was held at LEMAC QLD, and was attended by approx 40 members, as well as another special guest Mr Marc Spicer ACS who also shot Fast & Furious 7 at Steve's side. Gentlemen, thank you for your time.

Peter Steer accepts the 2015 Judges Award

It also takes a small army of volunteers to bring the ACS Awards to life, from judging through to all the administration and of course the ceremony. I'd like to make special mention of QLD ACE Vice-Presidents Mr Tim Jordin, and Ms Hemma Kearney who also work tirelessly behind the scenes. Many thanks once again to Mr Mitch Kennedy who prepares all the programs as well as handles all the PR media for the ACS QLD - a very big job throughout the year. The 2015 ACS QLD committee is a committed bunch of individuals, and while I can’t name them all here - it is wonderful and selfless duty they provide to you as members throughout the year - so many thanks indeed to the QLD ACS COMMITTEE. At the 2015 Awards, we also had a steadfast crew of volunteers - Stewart Wilson, Bryan Crawford, Brian Loewe, Sascha Shipley, Mateuse Pingol, Corey Donaldson, Brad Howard, David Napier among others, who deserve a thanks for their support behind the scenes.

This year, thanks to QLD Gold Sponsor INTERVISION OB, the Awards night was streamed online live for those who couldn't attend. Many thanks to Stewart Wilson for this service, and we wish to thank the many messages we received in real-time from around the globe! While it's not the same as being there in person, it is such an honour to be able to celebrate with all of you in real-time as you join in the festivities back in QLD. Also we must make special mention of Lemac, who also provided 2 Alexas as our AV cameras for the night.

Documenting the night was QLD member Vincent Chen and a small piece of video content will be available for your viewing soon - keep an eye out on the ACS Facebook - will make interesting viewing no doubt!!! QLD Member Mr Bryan Crawford has been our official stills photographer for the last several years, and all the photos from the 2015 ACS QLD AWARDS are now available for your viewing - please see links below. Many thanks Bryan for your generous service and great shots to document the evening! High resolution versions can be requested - just email the branch and we will point you in the right direction.

Bryan Crawford, Stephen F. Windon ACS ASC, Cameron Clark & Brett Tracey

So thanks again to all involved with the 2015 ACS QLD AWARDS for 2015. Next will will be bigger and more exciting then ever before - so remember to get your entries ready by mid year for submission in 2016!!!

To all winners - a very big congratulations from all of us, and thanks to ACS National Sponsors SHOWREELFINDER, the GOLD winning clips will be available for viewing soon.

If you require duplicates of your winning plaques, please don't hesitate to contact the branch. And all entry media will now be available for your collection from Lemac QLD's office, please contact Tim Jordin to collect after Thursday 25th Nov.


View the full list of winners from the 2015 Awards and watch all the Gold winning clips thanks to Showreelfinder via the links below!



Ron Johanson OAM ACS and Michael Burton

Many thanks to the wonderful ACS Member and QLD committee member, Bryan Crawford. All photos from the 2015 ACS QLD AWARDS are now available to view on the gallery link below.

High resolution versions are available - please contact the branch if required.

Website Members Login »
National FACEBOOK Page »


Platinum Sponsor

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Bronze Sponsors

© 2019 Australian Cinematographers Society