View this email in your browser


Sunday 6th November 2022
NSW Branch 2022 Award Winners
Firstly we would like to celebrate the accreditation of 3 NSW Members.

And celebrate two Special Awards
The first being an
ACS Appreciation Award
Andrew Collier
For decades of service in support of Australian Cinematographers
And the second being the
Ron Windon ACS Award
for outstanding contribution
John Lanser
For his sage advice and ongoing legal council modernising the Society's Constitution.
All event photographs courtesy of Daniel Christie
Chris Reason reporting from Kyiv
We would also like to sincerely thank our Guest of Honour, international jounalist Chris Reason for his illuminating and impassioned speech recognising the depth and dimension of his working relationships with cinematographers in the field.
..and our innimitable and much loved host and MC, Ray Martin AM
National Major Sponsor
Platinum State Sponsor
With special thanks to both our National
and NSW Branch Major Sponsors
... the award goes to
1.  CineKids
No Award this year
2. Student Cinematography
Gold      Jonathon Le Grice
Silver     Joanna Cameron
Bronze   Dillon Mak
Echoes of Darkness
Enemy Alien
Echoes of Darkness
3. John Bowring ACS Station Breaks & Promos
Silver    Jack Shepherd
These Futures Are Not Inevitable
4. Music Videos
Gold      Jack Shepherd
Gold      Mike Roberts
Gold      Louis C. Brandt
Silver    Danny Ruhlmann ACS
Silver    Alexander Leeway
Bronze  Kieran Fowler NZCS ACS
Choke - Colleto Bianco
Beautiful Thing - Nic Cester
Joy - Think About It
Genesis Owusu - Waitin' on ya

Heavy - Rainbow Chan
Flume featuring MAY-A
Choke - Colleto Bianco
5. Syd Wood ACS Local / National News
Bronze      Kevin Hudson ACS

6. Neil Davis International News
Bronze    Paul Devitt
CNN - Ukraine Medical Mission
7. Current Affairs
Gold      Sissy Reyes
Gold      Dave May
Gold      Mathew Marsic
Silver     James Gillings
Bronze   John Varga ACS
The Unsolved Cases of First Nations Women
7.30 - Sydney's Vaccine Rollout
Pacific Capture
SBS Insight - Impossible Choices

The Vanishing: Melissa Caddick
The Unsolved Cases of First Nations Women
8. Entertainment & TV Magazine
Gold     Casimir Dickson ACS 
Drew English & Tyson Perkins
Gold     Dave May
Silver   Dave May
Silver   Ahmad Al Morsy CSC
Bronze  Zachary Peel-McGregor

Silent Without the Sun
Australian Chamber Orchestra
Andrea Lam Live at Sydney Opera
Mansionair Live

Opet Festival
Noema Magazine - Victor Cooper
Australian Chamber Orchestra
9. Art, Innovation and Specialised Cinematography
Gold     Susan Stitt ACS
Silver    Ian Tyley
Bronze  Zachary Peel-McGregor
The Exchange
Beneath The Light
The Hidden
The Exchange
10. Corporate Branding and Advertising
Gold      Matthew Horrex ACS
Gold      Josh Flavell ACS
Gold      Brendan Barnes SASC
Silver    Don Buppapirak
Bronze  Simon Ozolins ACS

Faire - Destin
AJE Fractal
And Beyond
Lacoste - Walk Your Path

Zimmerman - Fall
AJE Fractal
11. Branded Content, Education & Events
Gold      Matthew Allard ACS
Silver     James L Brown ACS
Bronze   Matthew Allard ACS
Culinary Journey with Marriott Bonvoy
The Reluctant Sea Shanty
Rediscover Tokyo
12. Commercials - Local / Regional
Silver   James L Brown ACS
13. Commercials - National / International
Gold      Tyson Perkins
Gold      Ross Giardina ACS
Gold      James L Brown ACS
Silver    James L Brown ACS
Silver    Brendan Barnes SASC
Bronze  Kieran Fowler NZCS ACS
Uluru - Statement From The Heart
James Squire
Destination NSW - Feel
Google x AFL

AMP - The Investor in All of Us
Uluru - Statement From the Heart
Tyson Perkins receiving one of his four awards on the night and giving an eloquent speech in support of the Uluru Statement and a First Nations Voice to Parliament.
14. Documentaries
Silver    Bonnie Elliott ACS
Silver    Kate Cornish
Step into Paradise
The Dykes on Bikes: An Origin Story
Step into Paradise
15. Ron Taylor AM ACS & Valerie Taylor AM Wildlife & Nature
Silver    Andrew Kaineder
Animal 1 - S1E3
16. 2nd Unit Cinematography
No Award this year
17. Dramatised Documentaries
No Award this year
18. Short Films
Gold      Aleksei Vanamois
Gold      Susan Stitt ACS
Silver     Michael Filocamo
Silver     Casimir Dickson ACS
Bronze   Tyson Perkins
The Saturday Night Dress
The Purchase

Finding Jedda
19 Serial TV & Comedy Series
Bronze   Carolyn Constantine ACS
20. Drama Series
Gold      Tyson Perkins
Gold      Dave Cameron NZCS ACS
Gold      Jules O'Loughlin ACS ASC
Silver     Jules O'Loughlin ACS ASC
Silver     Damian Wyvill ACS
Bronze   Carolyn Constantine ACS
Mystery Road: Origin - S3E5
The Gulf - S2E4
The Old Man - S1E4
Ms Marvel "Time and Again" - S1E5
The Twelve - S1E6

Underbelly: Vanishing Act - S1E1
Mystery Road: Origin
21. Feature Films - Budget under $2m
Gold     Ross Giardina ACS
Gold     Mark Hobson
Gold     Dave Cameron NZCS ACS
Silver    Wade Muller HKSC ACS
Silver    Tania lambert ACS
Bronze  Tim Tregoning ACS
Catch the Fair One
Layers of Lies
Cave Rescue
Here Out West
Sweet River

Catch the Fair One
22. Feature Films - Budget $2m and Over
Gold      Stephen F Windon ACS ASC
Gold      Mandy Walker AM ACS ASC
Gold      Ahmad Al Morsy CSC
Silver     Nicola Daley ACS
Silver     Marc Spicer ACS
Bronze   Ross Giardina ACS

The Gray Man
Kira & El Gin

Escape Room: Tournament of Champions
Ross Wood Snr. ACS Judges Award for 2021 Best Entry
Student Cinematography Gold Award winner Jonathon Le Grice
Echoes of Darkness
Jonathon Le Grice
To check out the
ACS National & NSW INSTAGRAM accounts click the respective icons below:

New South Wales Major Sponsor
TDC logo

New South Wales Diamond Sponsor
Georges logo

New South Wales Gold Sponsors
Cinoptix logo        Southern Cross Cameras Australia logo

New South Wales Silver Sponsors
AJK Grips logo        Blue Post logo        Macquarie Commercial Finance logo        PDV Digital Cinema logo        Spectrum Films logo

National Major Sponsor
Fujifilm Australia logo

National Diamond Sponsor
Creamsource logo

National Platinum Sponsors
Black Magic Design logo        Canon logo        Cutting Edge logo        Panavision logo        Silver Track Digital logo
Sony logo

National Gold Sponsors
AFTRS logo        Aputure logo        ARRI Australia logo        C R Kennedy logo        EIZO logo
Kayell Australia logo        Leitz Cine Wetzlar logo        Lemac logo        Miller Australia logo        Rosco logo
Showreel Finder logo        SUNSTUDIOS logo        VA Hire logo        Well Above logo        XM2 logo

National ACS CineKids Sponsor
Videocraft logo

National Bronze Sponsors
Camerahire logo        Kino Flo Lighting Systems logo        Nanlux logo        Panasonic logo        RED logo
Sura logo        TecArt logo        Vimo Cine logo

National Supporters
AACTA logo        Black Bishop logo        MPIBS logo        NFSA logo        Stage & Screen logo

New South Wales Branch
Australian Cinematographers Society
Level 2, 26 Ridge Street, NORTH SYDNEY, NSW 2060

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.