2015 NSW/ACT Awards - and the Award goes to.............


AC Magazines

2015 NSW/ACT Annual Awards for Cinematography

Best Entry recipient John Seale AM ACS ASC & Guest of Honour Gillian Armstrong AM

Proudly supported by NSW platinum sponsor Red Apple Camera Rentals and National major sponsor Fujinon Fujifilm, the 2015 NSW/ACT Annual Awards for Cinematography were held on Saturday 7th November and what a great night it was with a near capacity crowd at the Sydney Masonic Centre.

Thank you MC Ray Martin AM and guest of honour Gillian Armstrong AM and thanks to the NSW Branch committee who once again worked tirelessly behind the scenes to bring us this great event.

Thank you Red Apple and to all our NSW sponsors, your support as always is greatly appreciated.

Thank you also to Sonic Sight, Geoff Anderson and Tim Stackpool who have been our Audio Visual and Voice over team since 1993 and to Barbara and Grey Kay from SpeakEasy with Christine Johnson on autocue.

Congratulations to all those who entered their work this year, the bar has been raised, and well done to those members who were able to take home a plaque or two.

To see 60 second clips of the Gold Winners entries go to National ACS sponsor Showreelfinder using this link.

Winner's clips at Showreelfinder »

Winner's List

ACS CineKids - Videocraft Equipment

11 Years & Under

Momoko Hill-Travis, I Scream
12-15 years

Darwin Schulze, Mission Implausible

Student Cinematography - AFTRS

Jovan Atanackovic, Harvest
Miller Best, Idle
Benjamin Cotgrove, The Fruity
Jarryd Hall, Legacy

Experimental & Specialised - Adept Turnkey, The Post Lounge

Jonathan Shaw, Life on the Reef - episode 1
Damian Smith, Reflections
Michael O'Rourke, girl + ghost

Music Clips - Digital Logic, ARRI Australia

Ross Giardina ACS, George Maple "Vacant Space"
Danny Ruhlmann ACS, Maddisen Ward and Momma Bear "Silent Movies"
Dan Freene ACS, Grace "Pluto"
Bruno Kataoka, Fytch "In these Shadows" (feat. Carmen Forbes)
Meg White, Remedy
Callan Green ACS, Eves The Behavior - TV

Syd Wood ACS Local/National News - Film Graphics Entertainment, Speakeasy Teleprompt

No Awards were presented in this category

Neil Davis International News - Macquarie Commercial Finance, Miller Camera Support

Matthew Allard ACS, Sea Gypsies
Matthew Allard ACS, Trauma
Tim Stewart, Band of Brothers, The Seabrooks - Seven News Sydney
Tim Stewart, Beneath the Somme ~ Seven News Sydney

Current Affairs - fxphd, Black Magic Design

Benjamin Foley, Afghanistan's Billion Dollar Drug War
Ashleigh Carter, Richie Benaud
Matthew Allard ACS, Ditching The Draft
Gregory Barbera ACS, To Hell and Home
Quentin Davis, Battle for Tarwyn Park - pts 1 & 2

John Bowring ACS Entertainment, TV Magazine, Breaks & Promos - Lemac Film & Digital

Zoe White, Foxtel - Smooth TV Ident
Emilio Abbonizio, Foxtel Australia's Next Top Model Promo 2014
Emilio Abbonizio, Wentworth 2014 - Promo Foxtel
Warwick Brown, Australia's next top model opening titles
Ashleigh Carter, Mykonos
Ashleigh Carter, Queensland Origin Team

Corporate & Educational - New York Film Academy, Sunstudios

Dale Alexander Bremner, Telstra "Access for Everyone"
Dale Alexander Bremner, Telstra "Everyone Connected"
Kevin Scott, Commonwealth Bank - HyperLapse
Graeme Beck, Hospital for Specialist Surgery
Viv Scanu ACS, Jurlique
Benjamin Shepherd, City of Sydney New Years Eve Campaign 2014

Web Content & New Media - PDV Digital Cinema Workshops, Panasonic Australia

Ross Giardina ACS, BPM - Elegant Hedonism
Emma Paine, We Will
Robb Shaw-Velzen ACS, The Inventor
Emma Paine, Infused Honey
Casimir Dickson, Riff Raff
Benjamin Shepherd, Vetus Teaser

Documentaries - Rosco Australia, XM2 Aerial

Maxim Drygin, Big Day Of #6
Justin Hanrahan ACS, Why Anzac with Sam Neil
Justin Hanrahan ACS, The Champions
Rob Scheeren, The Road To Monterey
Peter Coleman ACS, Bespoke "Rise of the Makers" - episode 1
Toby Ralph, Redesign My Brain 2

The Ron Taylor AM ACS Wildlife & Nature Award - VA Digital Hire

No entries were received in this category.

Advertising Local/Regional - Eden Creative Media, Showreelfinder

Ross Giardina ACS, NRMA - Home
Timothy Tregoning, Angus Barrett - The Saddler
Michael Fardell, CBR Brand Film
Damian Smith, Nowheretogo

Advertising National/International - Barbizon Lighting, Gearhead Camera Rentals

Ross Giardina ACS, Shell - Real Destinations
Earle Dresner, - Lexus - Heart Racing
Timothy Tregoning, Toyota 690 - Spin The World
Ross Emery ACS, Gillette - Boxhead
Timothy Tregoning, Qantas - Family
Andrew Buckley, Bombshell

Dramatised Documentaires - Southern Cross Cameras, Canon Australia

Steve Arnold ACS, JFK - Smoking Gun
Dave Cameron ACS, The Monster of Mangatiti

Short Films - Cinoptix, DDP Studios

Ross Giardina ACS, Mother
Ross Giardina ACS, Oranges Don't Grow on Trees
Peter Eastgate, Death in Bloom
Joel Froome, The Bespoke Tailoring of Mister Bellamy
Tristan Milani ACS, Bluey
Tania Lambert, The Frontier

Drama or Comedy Series & Telefeatures - Red Apple Camera Rentals, SONY Australia

Jules O'Loughlin ACS, Black Sails - episode 16
Bruce Young, The Code - episode 4
Simon Chapman ACS, Glitch - episode 3

Features - Cinema Daymaker Lighting, Panavision Australia

John Seale AM ACS ASC, Mad Max: Fury Road
Andrew Lesnie ACS ASC, The Water Diviner
Benjamin Shirley ACS, The Pack
Steve Arnold ACS, Last Cab to Darwin
Carl Robertson ACS, Infini
Simon Chapman ACS, Cut Snake

Ross Wood Snr ACS Judges Award for 2015 Best Entry

John Seale AM ACS ASC - Mad Max: Fury Road

Keep up to date with ACS news via Facebook

ACS Facebook page »

ACS National Headquarters
Level 2, 26 Ridge Street,
North Sydney
NSW 2060
Ph: 02 8920 8535

HQ Manager: David Lewis ACS email
Assistant HQ Manager: Richard Wilmot email


You have received this correspondence because you are a member or affiliate of the ACS.
If you wish NOT to receive correspondence from the ACS NSW branch, please got to http://cinematographer.org.au/_manage/member/user.asp
and log in with your membership profile to modify your correspondence options.

Website Members Login »


Platinum Sponsor

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

© 2019 Australian Cinematographers Society