Sydney Film Festival - Deadline - Dendy Awards for Australian Short Films

The Dendy Awards deadline is fast approaching!

Entry to the awards closes on Monday 27th February. Submission of Australian short fiction films (either animation or live action, less than 40 minutes in length) requires filmmakers to complete an online submission form and payment, and send four copies of their film to the Sydney Film Festival office in Sydney. Cash prizes are awarded in three categories: Best Live Action Short ($5 000), The Yoram Gross Animation Award ($4 000) and The Rouben Mamoulian Award for Best Director ($5 000). Past winners include many of Australia's most respected film-makers such as festival patrons Jane Campion, Phillip Noyce and Gillian Armstrong.

The Awards are recognised by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and therefore winners in the animation and live action category are eligible for Academy Awards consideration. Recent Dendy Award winners that have gone on to be Academy-nominated include Miracle Fish (SFF Dendy Live Action 2009/82nd Academy Awards) and The Lost Thing (SFF Yoram Gross Animation 2010/83rd Academy Awards).

The shortlisted films will be screened during the festival and this year, for the first time, we'll also be organising two workshops with the directors and producers of the shortlisted films on the final weekend covering topics relating to working in this format.

The FOXTEL Australian Documentary Prize and SFF general program submissions (international films and Australian fiction features) also close on this date, however we will consider late submission in these other categories. For further information, please contact Alana Adye, Freight & Submissions Coordinator on (02) 9690 5306 or email

ACS National Headquarters
Level 2, 26 Ridge Street,
North Sydney
NSW 2060
Ph: 02 8920 8535

HQ Manager David Lewis


You have received this correspondence because you are a member or affiliate of the ACS.
If you wish NOT to receive correspondence from the ACS NSW branch, please go the link below and log in with your membership profile to modify your correspondence options.

Website Member Login »

Major Sponsor

ACS NSW Sponsors

Platinum Sponsor

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

© 2019 Australian Cinematographers Society