View this email in your browser
ACS Short Ends - National eNews Bulletin - January 25 2022
Warmest greetings to you all,

So, after fourteen years at the helm, I have decided to steer a different course.

At the ACS AGM on Sunday 23 January, the National Executive elected the very first ACS female National President; Erika Addis.

I congratulate Erika on this great honour afforded her and wish her smooth sailing with the wind at her back.

It is difficult for me to put into words how much I have enjoyed my time as National President because the title doesn’t really fit the involvement which happens on so many levels. You have all inspired me to do better, and while there were times I possibly did not come up to par, I believe we achieved so much together, and our beloved Society can hold its head up high as a valued global entity.

We still have challenges ahead but we must maintain integrity, truth, professional ethics and principles above self-interest, always remembering we are here for our members and not for personal benefit or gain. A reminder that we are members of a great Society, steeped in tradition and we must always represent the Society with dignity and mutual respect.

I thank you all once again for the honour you have afforded me, by allowing me to be your National President over the past 14 years. I am very proud to be part of such an important Society and its role within our industry and the optimism we all share for the future.

With great respect and thanks,
Ron Johanson OAM ACS

The ACS Welcomes Erika Addis
I am proud and humbled to be charged with the responsibility of leading the ACS. The purpose of the ACS is to nurture the knowledge and understanding of cinematography and all those who practice it. I look forward to working closely with all the ACS team, and especially Ron Johanson OAM ACS, to further this work.

I acknowledge Ron’s considerable legacy and support, that has enabled me to take on this role. 2022 is the 10th anniversary of the formation of the ACS Women’s Advisory Panel, and throughout those ten years Ron steadily worked to ensure the integration of the WAP into the fabric of the ACS. And the Society can all rightly be proud that the WAP recently evolved into the Diversity, Inclusion and Reconciliation working panel in 2021.

That evolution reflects the extent to which the ACS of the second decade of 21st century is a global citizen, aware of its place on the world stage, that sees and values the importance of the contribution of women, first nations peoples and all minorities.

The time ahead will bring a focus on ensuring we have good governance throughout the ACS which is vital to the Society’s well-being.  And at the same time the work being done on the outward facing wings of the ACS will bear fruit soon – in particular the website and social media. And the research, both technical and industry based, being done and shared with members will continue to ensure the ACS is a relevant and vital organisation.

Like all of us, I want the ACS to thrive, and to reach out not only to those who have the privilege and good fortune to know what they can gain from the ACS, but also to those whose life experiences are rich in ways that many members of the ACS National Executive may not have lived experience. Those who don’t yet know or understand what they can gain from the ACS. Many story tellers of the coming generations will have different ways of seeing and experiencing the world and we have a lot to learn from them.

I am honoured by the support so generously shown me within the ACS, and I look forward to leading the Society into its bright future.

Erika Addis
ACS National President Elect

ACS National Executive
National Executive Positions
    •    President
    •    Ron Johanson OAM ACS (QLD)
    •    President-Elect
    •    Erika Addis (NSW)
    •    Vice-Presidents
    •    Carolyn Constantine ACS (NSW)
    •    Andrew Hyde (NT)
    •    Secretary
    •    Kevin Hudson ACS (NSW)
    •    Assistant Secretary
    •    Velinda Wardell ACS (NSW)
    •    Treasurer
    •    Mick Fanning (QLD)
    •    Assistant Treasurer
    •    Sidat de Silva (NSW)

National Ancillary Positions
    •    National Webmaster
    •    Richard Chataway ACS (SA)
    •    AC Magazine Chair
    •    Ted Rayment ACS (NSW)
    •    HQ Manager
    •    Ted Rayment ACS (NSW)
    •    National Historian
    •    Ted Rayment ACS (NSW)

ACS Ambassador
    •    David Brill AM ACS

National Major Sponsor
Fujifilm Australia logo

National Diamond Sponsor
Creamsource logo

National Platinum Sponsors
Black Magic Design logo        Canon logo        Panasonic logo        Panavision logo        Silver Track Digital logo
Sony logo        The Post Lounge logo

National Gold Sponsors
AFTRS logo        ARRI Australia logo        C R Kennedy logo        Kayell Australia logo        Leitz Cine Wetzlar logo
Lemac logo        Miller Australia logo        Rosco logo        Showreel Finder logo        SUNSTUDIOS logo
VA Hire logo        Well Above logo        XM2 logo

National ACS CineKids Sponsor
Videocraft logo

National Bronze Sponsors
Blonde Robot logo        Camerahire logo        Mark Robinson Motion Control logo        RED logo        Rotor Head logo
Sura logo        TecArt logo        Vimo Cine logo

National Supporters
AACTA logo        Black Bishop logo        MPIBS logo        NFSA logo        Stage & Screen logo

Copyright © 2021 Australian Cinematographers Society, All rights reserved. 
You signed up at
Our mailing address is:
Australian Cinematographers Society
Level 2, 26 Ridge Street
North Sydney, NSW  2060
Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.